Levels of Instruction


Designed to let parents and young children learn together to increase a child’s comfort level in the water and build a foundation of basic skills, such as arm and leg movements and breathing control, as well as having fun in the water.

Level A - Children 6 months to 2 years old, who have little or no previous water experiences

  • Replaces Infant & Pre-School Aquatic Program
  • Parent or caregiver must accompany child in the water
  • Children ready to learn without a parent/caregiver should enroll in an appropriate Learn-to-Swim class

Level B - Children 18 months up to 5 years of age with:

  •   two or more previous sessions in the water
  •   submerged only reluctantly (or not at all)
  •   require flotation support at all times
  •   may benefit from parental presence in the water



Red Cross Learn-to-Swim features differing levels of instruction to help swimmers of all ages develop their skills.

  Preschool   II, III                  Water Skills Orientation

  Level 2                                  Fundamental Aquatic Skills

  Level 3                                  Stroke Development

  Level 4                                  Stroke Improvement

  Level 5                                  Stroke Refinement

  Level 6                                  Swimming and Skill Proficiency